Fandoms

Stars Wars Films Ranked By Yours Truly

Hello everyone,

When people ask me what is one of the best moments of my life, I fondly remember seeing the ten simple words across a black background that changed my life words.

Those words were…

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away…

I long time ago in a galaxy far, far away.... (Just saying....) ;-) | Star  wars quotes, Star wars humor, Star wars

Little me was not prepared for the cataclysmic event in her tiny life. 

It was my first introduction into the vast universe of Star Wars

The soaring John Williams soundtrack

The classic introduction

star wars title screen GIF

Source

The lightsaber battles

The planets and spaceships

The fantastical creatures

The endless battle between the light and dark sides of the Force.

I was mesmerized and changed forever. 

Life before Star Wars was no life at all. 

Okay, I am done with all the flowery language. 

But Episode 1: The Phantom Menace always holds a special place in my heart (sorry, I did not watch them in theatrical order). I vividly remember watching it as an 8 year old (or at least I think I was 8) and thinking, “this is the best movie ever!” Of course, no one thinks Episode 1 is the best movie ever but still this was my introduction and I am not ashamed!

I had been planning to do another Star Wars post sooner but here we are! 

Now, I have gotten into countless debates on the ranking of these 11 movies (Sorry, The Clone Wars film is not counting). I am totally okay if your list looks different from mine. That’s what makes it fun (unless, your number one spot goes to Episode 9). 

Please share your lists on Instagram, Facebook, and in the comments below! 🙂

  1. Episode 5: The Empire Strikes Back
Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back | Buy, Rent or Watch on FandangoNOW

Umm, I am not even going to write on this. This is hands down one of the best sequels ever in movie history!

star wars GIF

Source

  1. Episode 4: A New Hope
Star Wars: A New Hope | Buy, Rent or Watch on FandangoNOW

I know some people think R2-D2 and C-3PO ramble on and on way too much.

bossy star wars GIF

Source

But this film is so delightful (well not those skinny lightsabers). It does have its flaws like…

LUKE HAS ZERO REMORSE WHEN HE FINDS HIS AUNT AND UNCLE ARE LITERALLY DEAD AND BURNING TO A CRISP (ALSO, THAT’S JUST DISGUSTING).

I had to say that because people do not talk about that enough! 

Anyways, Obi-Wan and Han were great in this film. They do tend to use that “country kid who never gets his dreams” tropewith Luke, but he is loveable.

Yes, the story is not out of this world, but there are so many wonderful aspects to the film. The creatures, Darth Vader, the special effects (for the 70s people!), the battle of Yavin (or the battle of the Death Star for anyone who said, “Huh?”), and the chemistry between Luke, Han, and Leia all make it a go-to and fun film.

  1. Episode 6: The Return of the Jedi
Amazon.com: Star Wars: Return of the Jedi (Theatrical Version): Mark  Hamill, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Billy Dee Williams

Yeah, I like the originals way better than the new movies!

Episode 6 used to be my number two spot for years but honestly, I love the Ewoks, but they get a little too much time. Sometimes you forget this is not a kids TV show. Okay, so maybe not that bad. Well, props for George wanting it to be family friendly!

Overall it makes sense for the Empire to build another Death Star and our redemption storyline is nice. Luke has really grown since Episode 4. He is no longer the naive country kid but a leader with a caring heart. 

We get closure that stays in line with the previous films (*cough* unlike the sequels *cough* trilogy *cough*). 

Jabba the Hutt and Bib Fortuna might be super creepy but hey, it is Star Wars.

Side note: I think you can see that this trilogy had different directors (You definitely can tell in the sequels but in the worst ways possible), but the heart of the universe still is there through all of them. They are still sci-fi but not over the top. It still is about unlikely heroes, good and evil, perserverance, and all that jazz. It has everything that makes it a sci-fi film and everything that makes it different from all other sci-fi films! It is this vast universe but still simply the story of how to deal with power and responsibility. The originals keep that perfect mix of simple but huge that I love.

We could get into how these movies changed movie making and sc-fi films forever, but we will leave that for another day.

  1. Episode 3: Revenge of the Sith
Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith | Buy, Rent or Watch on FandangoNOW

HOW DID THE JEDI BECOME SO OBILVIOUS TO PALPATINE. 

I mean the Jedi are known for their wisdom and they just don’t even think that evil one was the mysterious senator right in front of their faces.

That is honestly the biggest flaw with the prequel trilogy.

Now that that is stated…

As I said before, I watched the prequels first so this era in the Star Wars universe and these 3 films are a bit nostalgic for me. I think this is probably so for my generation because these were the films during our childhoods. Unlike those before 1999, who only had the originals. I understand if you think this episode is too high on my list.

I honestly love the battle on Mustafar and Obi-Wan in this film.

revenge of the sith episode 3 GIF by Star Wars

Source

I do not think that Anakin got a sufficent backstory. It still does not feel like this guy is going to be Darth Vader. But this film tried to remedy that and make it seem believable. It still feels like a huge jump in character development.

Overall this is a decent film that links to Episode 4 as best it could. I appreciated seeing the inner turmoil of Anakin. Having Anakin’s downfall related to Padmé’s life was a good move. And Ian McDiarmid did a nice job with Palpatine in this film.

Yes, I hate the Jedi younglings scene but it is proof Anakin as a Jedi was over. 😦

star wars GIF

Source

  1. Episode 1: The Phantom Menace
Star Wars: The Phantom Menace | Buy, Rent or Watch on FandangoNOW

I am not as vehemently against pod racing and Jar Jar Binks as some of you are. 

the phantom menace GIF by Star Wars

Source

This film has a sweetness about it that I just love. 

Plus I love love love the lightsaber battle between Darth Maul, Qui-Gon, and Obi-Wan!

star wars jedi GIF

Source

And again, my first introduction to Star Wars.

I enjoy Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan’s chemistry in this film. I did not enjoy the midicholrians introduction. I did enjoy seeing Anakin’s fighter pilot skills.

There are some good and bad things about this film. It is definitely not perfect. But it great Star Wars adventure and makes the Episode 6 redemption story believable.

  1. Episode 7: The Force Awakens
Star Wars: The Force Awakens | Buy, Rent or Watch on FandangoNOW

Rewatching this movie makes be a bit sad. I mean look at all that potential for a decent trilogy that just went down the drain.

You have this powerful Jedi with a mysterious background

A rogue stormtrooper. I repeat a rogue stormtrooper! So cool!

The grandson of Darth Vader

kylo ren entertainment GIF

Source

An estranged Han and Leia

And the search to bring Luke home

That actually sounds like a decent plot! Well, that is all in Episode 7. Sadly, all this potential falls flat by Episode 9.

  1. Episode 2: Attack of the Clones
Star Wars: Attack of the Clones | Buy, Rent or Watch on FandangoNOW

I know! I know! The battle of Geonosis is so darn cool! But honestly that is the highlight for me!

 

episode 2 GIF by Star Wars

Source

It felt like this cheesy and rushed love story sprinkled with Anakin’s tantrums.

  1. Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story | Buy, Rent or Watch on FandangoNOW

I used to hate this film, but it had grown on me. It might even take the seventh spot one day. 

This back story was that one thing you’d like to see. I mean the Death Star plans is what started it all! I enjoyed getting to see a decently developed story to answer the question, “How did Leia get the Death Star plans?”

Yes, fake Moff Tarkin was creepy (not as creepy as fake Leia) but still kinda cool to see him back in action. 

And of course, I loved seeing Darth Vader again!

  1. Solo: A Star Wars Story
Solo: A Star Wars Story (2018) - IMDb

When I think about this film the word: unneccessary is the first thing I think of. 

I did like Donald Glover’s performance as Lando Calrissian, and it was cool to see the beginning of Chewbacca and Han’s friendship (though it does not make sense for Chewy to stay with Han after finding some Wookiees he had been searching for. He had just met Han!).

star wars GIF by Hyper RPG

Source

Lando’s droid, L3-37, was a riot! I guess sassy droids are now a thing since K-2SO from Rogue One was a hit. 

This honestly just felt like a action movie and less like a Star Wars film. And just so unneccasry.

  1. Episode 8: The Last Jedi
Star Wars: The Last Jedi | Buy, Rent or Watch on FandangoNOW

This film literally moves the story line about a centimeter. Not only are there so many pointless things (like Finn and Rose’s mission), but they literally do not explain anything about the First Order and Snoke.

The best thing about this film is the porgs and Kylo Ren and Rey’s mind connection (which I guess was the beginning of the dyad relationship we see full blown in Episode 9?). 

the last jedi GIF by Star Wars

Source

And what they did to Luke is awful! He was like a completely different person!

The shoulder brushing scene was cool, but we all know Luke would have had more sympathy for his sister and her friends. He wouldn’t have been so mean and vehemently refuse to go with Rey or toss his lightsaber as if it wasn’t important.

  1. Episode 9: The Rise of Skywalker
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker | StarWars.com

This movie is partially awful because The Last Jedi didn’t really help the trilogy! 

But if plot holes, endings lacking creativity (IT WAS THE RETURN OF THE JEDI FINALE WITH NEW FACES), unfair character development (Let’s just leave Poe, Finn, and Rose in the dust!), huge story archs introduced in the last movie (with SO little explanation), and a Jedi that just gets better and better when it is convenient (umm, force healing!?!?)…this is the movie for you!

I could rant forever over this film!

I’ll be nice and say the lightsaber battles were really cool, but the dyad relationship with Kylo Ren and Rey wasn’t really explained so…

WHAT A DISSAPOINTMENT!

I might talk trash about these films, but I really do love the Star Wars universe!

Hope this encourages you to do a marathon in the near future.

~ Kenedy M. 

All images courtesy of Google images.

4 thoughts on “Stars Wars Films Ranked By Yours Truly

  1. I love this post, Kenedy! My favorite Star Wars films ranked would be: The Empire Strikes Back (it really is the best!!!), Rogue One, Return of the Jedi, Revenge of the Sith, A New Hope, The Phantom Menace, The Force Awakens, The Rise of Skywalker (yes, the plot was disappointing, but the movie itself wasn’t awful), Attack of the Clones, and The Last Jedi. Solo… to put it plainly, I need to rewatch it before I can rank it against all the others. I watched it while babysitting a crying baby, and our internet wasn’t great in the basement so the picture was grainy half the time. I remember not liking it at all though…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Maria! And thanks for being a part of many Star Wars discussions! ❤️

      Oohhh Rogue One is pretty high! It is growing on me!

      I’m glad we both agree Attack of the Clones and the Last Jedi are at the bottom!

      Lol, I would probably give Solo a rewatch too if that was the case! It isn’t that good though…😆

      I definitely think Episode 9 had a lot of problems due to lack of direction Ann’s changing directors like 4 time throughout the trilogy. But still it is so awful…😣

      Thanks for sharing yours!

      Like

  2. It always amazes me Kenedy how much you can find to write about when it comes to Star Wars!!! I truly love your excitement and joy you receive from them. And Yes, I agree that ‘Empire Strikes Back’ is by far one of the best sequels to Star Wars! Continue to love life and all the enjoyment you can have with it! I continue to love your post! Keep at it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment